+91-62 89 87 84 25

@Royed Updates

Clarification, News & Notifications
11 Jul 2024

What is ECOWAS region?

Posted By

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) is a regional political and economic union of countries located in West Africa. ECOWAS was established on May 28, 1975, via the Treaty of Lagos. It’s mission is to promote economic integration and cooperation among its member states.

ECOWAS Member Countries

As of now, ECOWAS comprises 15 member states:

  1. Benin
  2. Burkina Faso
  3. Cape Verde
  4. Côte d’Ivoire
  5. Gambia
  6. Ghana
  7. Guinea
  8. Guinea-Bissau
  9. Liberia
  10. Mali
  11. Niger
  12. Nigeria
  13. Senegal
  14. Sierra Leone
  15. Togo


ECOWAS aims to achieve collective self-sufficiency for its member states by creating a single large trading bloc through an economic and trading union. Its specific objectives include:

  • Promoting economic integration across various sectors such as industry, transport, telecommunications, energy, agriculture, natural resources, commerce, monetary and financial questions, social and cultural matters.
  • Removing trade barriers and establishing a customs union.
  • Creating a common market and harmonizing sectoral policies.
  • Promoting peace and security within the region.

Leave a Reply

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Scale up your knowledge to Next Level with our Free Content

Case studies & Caselets |Simulation based learning | Online self competency assessment tests 

Thank You for Subscription!